Avocado cornbread – I’m back!

After a lovely three weeks off of work, I am back at the UAG planning out my remaining five months. During my vacation I ventured back to the States and was happily surprised that there weren’t that many things that I had to take advantage of enjoying because I wouldn’t be able to get them back in Mexico. Aside from almond butter (which I now have a strong supply of), hiking, and of course my friends and family, most everything I enjoy in the United States I can find here in Mexico (usually for a price). Although this thought could spark a discussion on American Imperialism, I am really ok with being able to buy Annie’s Organic and Kashi products at Soriana, and that’s all I have to say about that for now.

One of my New Year’s resolutions is to bake more bread. Another resolution is to run a half marathon, but more about that later. At our Fulbright cooking club dinners we usually have some kind of bread to round out the meal. I have never made the bread for the meals, but seeing how easy it is, and how lovely a piece of soft, fresh baked bread is, has prompted me to learn more about and practice baking bread.

It should surprise now one who knows me or has ever used the website BuzzFeed, that I found an article titled, “17 Warm and Cozy Breads to Bake when it’s Cold Outside.” Since my apartment, especially my room, doesn’t get that much sunlight to warm it up (no heating either), it can be pretty cold inside even if it’s in the high 60’s/low 70’s outside. One bread from the list caught my eye: the avocado cornbread from Food52. I made cornbread a couple of times in the fall and I wanted to try this one out. The final result was a little more mushy than expected, but the overall flavor was pretty good. I didn’t have a cast iron pan, which is what the original recipe calls for, which would have created a browned bottom that would have contrasted with the soft inside and creamy avocado. 

Avocado Cornbread, original recipe from Food52, adapted for ingredient availability and preferences 

Image

 

Ingredients:

Image

– 1 cup cornmeal 

– 1/2 cup all purpose flour

– 1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1/2 teaspoon chipotle powder

– 1 egg

– 6 tablespoons of butter

– 2 tablespoons of honey

– 1 cup milk

– 1 avocado, cubed

– Juice of half a lime

1. The first step in the original recipe is to heat 2 tablespoons of butter with some cumin in your cast iron pan and heat it in the oven at 400 degrees F. I didn’t have cumin or a cast iron skillet, so I just put two tablespoons of butter into my glass pie dish. I had to take the butter out really quickly because I thought it was going to burn, so unless you have the necessary equipment I think you can skip that and just preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

2. Whisk the cornmeal, flour, baking soda, salt, and chipotle pepper together. 

Image

 

3. Melt the butter and honey together in the microwave. Two sessions of 20 seconds did the trick.

Image

4. Whisk the egg and milk together. Cut the cubes of the avocado and dress with lime juice to prevent it from turning brown.

Image

As the recipe points out, you have now dirtied four separate bowls. 

Image

5. Mix the honey butter into the milk and eggs.

Image

6. Mix the honey/butter/milk/eggs mixture into the dry ingredients. 

Image

7. Fold in the avocado and put into your baking dish.

Image

8. Bake the cornbread for 30-40 minutes, enjoy!

Image

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

